For those of you who know me, you know I’m an avid reader.  Avid. Rabid. Avid.  I’ve renamed my Kindle, ‘Ken Doll’ I’m with it so much……   Anyway, I’ve recently been devouring a trilogy by Swedish author Stieg Larsson, the first of which is titled ‘The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo‘.   Set in Sweden and featuring a cast of characters I’d sort of like to know I’ve been transported – a bit like the pretty lady in those Kindle TV ads.      There is good urban imagery in the writing and I can almost imagine Stockholm despite never having set foot in the country.  I can most assuredly imagine the interior settings in which the protagonists and antagonists (heroes and villains) move:  pale or monochromatic colors, clean, lean and simple lines, pale woods, and the crisp and thin northern light washing the walls and floors.  Essential, Beautiful!

I learned today that wood floor I’ve recommended for a home remodel I’m working on in Granite Bay, Ca most likely originates in Sweden.  Not North American white oak, but Swedish white oak, I’m told.  Hmmmm…..I was aiming for contemporary, neutral and durable with specific finish and species.  

So fun that I’ve got a bit of Sweden going here in Northern California.   Now back to my reading…..

