Thank you dear readers for patiently waiting my next post.  In addition to focusing on projects since my last long-ago post the spirit of summer took hold, I took pause and refreshed my creativity and energies.  I’ve got some fun posts in the works to kick off my favorite season – Fall – but here is a quick touch on some of my summer blog-worthy highlights.

Wallpaper.  Yes, wallpaper.  On a large project in Granite Bay, CA we installed two lovely papers from Phillip Jefferies.  I’m much in love with the transformation that occurred and have been searching for the perfect paper for an area of my own home.  Goody.

A long-awaited and dear friend’s wedding in Tomales on the beautiful windswept coast of Northern California and a chance to get reacquainted with Jeanette Le Grue’s plein aire artistry.  I first became enchanted with her work when I came across it during the annual Sonoma Plein Aire Festival years ago and have followed her ever since.  Just south of Tomales along California’s famed Highway 1 is the William Lester Gallery where I’ve sourced plein aire paintings for projects.  If you are ever in the Pt. Reyes Station area I recommend a visit.

Mosaic Madness Continues.  Still not finished but nearly so.  The lovely finisher and artist Kristina Letson is on base now to add just the perfect plaster touch and color to the columns.  If you are new to this project you can read a bit about it on previous posts:  In ProcessWaiting, and The Beginning. Contractor woes set this back a bit but all is good now and smiles all around.  Stay tuned for finished pictures.

ASID Designer Day, Arizona Tile, Rancho Cordova, CA.  Joined by my ASID colleagues throughout the day as we assisted area homeowners with their space planning, color, tile and lighting dilemmas.  A timely article in the Sacramento Bee promoted the event and featured before and after pictures from one of Jennifer FaGalde’s projects.  I was proud and pleased to participate in this event organized by Jennifer FaGalde of FaGalde Designs and Jennifer Hilgardner of Timeless Design & Accents (with me in the above photo) and sponsored by ASID, Arizona Tile, Benjamin Moore Paints and Lighting Design.

Student Mentoring at The Art Institute in Sacramento.  I was pleased to participate in a panel discussion with fellow Sacramento art- and design-industry professionals last month.  We spoke for two hours to a room full of eager students hopeful to learn the secrets of landing that perfect internship or perfect post-college position.  I learned a few things, like the fact that the Sacramento film business is thriving.  Who knew! Fellow panelists  Christina Marie with Cow Town Film Productions educated us all.

These are but a few highlights of a busy summer.  More posts ahead to share the story of an interior designer, her projects, inspirations and life ahead:  before and after pictures that are always delightful to share, my favorite paint brands and why, more book club reads and the interiors they inspire, and upcoming travels:  Napa, San Francisco, Santa Fe….

