Happy New Year Dear Readers!

Are we ready for 2013?  2012 has been a great year for me and PepperJack Interiors.  I started the year off with a bang as the chair of our ASID chapter’s participation in the region’s leading home show; completed my first large out-of-state design project (Missoula, Montana); satisfied two large, entire home projects – one with traditional decor, another with a contemporary mix of rustic, metals, and traditional thrown in.

Montana Piede a Terre, Missoula

I took a personal break in early summer and traveled with my family and sister to Italy where I devoured the culture and history along with the pasta and Pino Grigio. My family had to pull me away from the art and history of Florence and Rome, and I nearly broke my bare feet scampering to waves on the shore of Positano’s ‘pebble beach’ — beautiful, but deadly for the unaccustomed!  I came away from the trip with new knowledge and an appreciation about historical building materials and esthetics, a lovely ‘Moda Positano’ dress, great family memories, and an extra 5 pounds.

Phoebe2012 (1)

Our Apartment in Rome, Campo di Fiori

Back in Loomis I worked with new and existing clients and continued to add to and freshen my list of curated design sources.  I’m delighted to have found the team at PrintedArt which was a great new source for some fresh photography to grace my client’s walls.

PrintedArt

48×36 Photo on Aluminum, Robin Brook Project

Just at summer’s end I was thrilled to have my bath design work awarded first place in our local ASID Design Excellence awards. I’m officially an ‘Award Winning’ Interior Designer.  Yes!

Bathroom Remodel Granite Bay

1st Place, ASID Design Excellence Awards

A highlight of the year was taking my oldest daughter Phoebe to UCLA in September.  Bitter sweet no doubt, but I’m excited for all of the opportunity at her feet. I’m so proud of her! Had to decorate her beige dorm room just a bit and can hardly conceal my delight in the prospects of visiting LA more often!

Phoebe2012 (6)

Phoebe and Larry, Move-In Day, UCLA

I continue to enjoy the community, friendship and motivation of other interior designers, vendors, editors and trades people.  It is true that we are better together!

Phoebe2012 (5)

I finished the year working with a group of lovely women and homeowners on the annual Loomis Basin Holiday Home Tour.  A huge success for the local school foundation, and a wonderful opportunity for me to make new friends and contribute to the community. My family and I are so fortunate to live in rural Loomis!

Phoebe2012 (4)

Master Bath Decor on Loomis Holiday Home Tour, Stunning!

Looking ahead…….here are a few things I’m planning for PepperJack in 2013:

1.  Continue to focus my brand and energies on client projects which are a good match for my talents and business.  I’m thinking 6 large projects – complete homes with all the furnishings, artwork, lighting, window treatments, etc.  I’ve honed my business practices to meet the needs of these large projects and find my design sensibilities are at their peak with these challenges.

2.  I strive to attend one national/international trade show annually.  This year I’ll be hitting Dwell on Design in Los Angeles in late June.  I’m looking forward to this intensive opportunity to source new vendors and suppliers, and keep my pulse on design trends and the latest technologies.  If any of you are planning on going, please let me know so we can rendez-vous and exchange ideas!

3.  Continue to get better organized and more efficient.  Those of you in the design trade appreciate the mounds of paperwork, the details and more details (the accounting!) that go into not only each project, but the business in general.   I’ve made great strides in this area this past year and want to continue pushing ahead.

Finally, it goes without saying, but you can count on me to continue pushing my design skills, resources, and opportunities to their fullest. I’m looking forward to great design and more happy clients in 2013!  Happy New Year.  Happy Designing.

PepperJack Goes Western

-Laura

Inspiration is at the heart of my luxury design services. What’s inspiring you? 
Make your home or business interior the best it can be and contact me for online or in person advice.  PepperJackInteriors.com

