As I walk through a client’s homes on my initial visit, I often see the most interesting things: large engraved tusks over a fireplace,  a bunny cage in a dining room, farm equipment hanging on walls.  Some make me smile, others make me ask more questions, and a few get me excited about the possibilities of integrating  them into the refreshed design.

So often the pieces are out of context or placed in a way that imbalances the space.  But with a special touch and bit of creativity I work to place these so that they embellish rather than detract.

For instance, I would reposition this elephant statue (previously collecting dust in a corner) into a more prominent player as a functioning side table.  No need to turn the entire space into an animal theme park, just a bit of whimsy in the right spot.

Screen shot 2013-07-23 at 11.36.12 PM

If my clients are not lucky enough to have these strange items lying around I’ll often suggest bringing in some.  A rancher’s granddaughter that I am,  I do have a fondness for cattle and this next piece makes me smile.  It is a fun and functional piece that I would make work in just the right kitchen/great room space.  Yes, I think I could convince just the right person to employ this. May take me a while, but I would gently push and cajole.

Screen shot 2013-07-23 at 11.42.08 PMArtist Marcantonio Raimondi Malerba

This lovely gold horse is an example of something I’d typically see stuffed in a back bookcase somewhere.  I’d immediately take it out and place it more prominently — perhaps on a stack of books on the coffee table or on a mantle layered with a special painting.

Screen shot 2013-07-23 at 11.45.13 PM

I’d add this photograph in a formal space  to act as a conversation starter. The trick is the context in which these pieces are used. The surroundings must be just so to pull something like this off.

Screen shot 2013-07-23 at 11.51.50 PM

Of course, a pillow is an easy way to take a design ‘off-center’ and to inexpensively add interest and texture.  I could add this blue and khaki gem to my living room right now — it would look fabulous against my dark blue, over-stuffed Ikat throw pillows currently on my sofa.

Screen shot 2013-07-23 at 11.58.15 PM

Screen shot 2013-07-23 at 11.59.24 PM

OK, this last one is simply fun and I couldn’t resist sharing with you.  Not sure I would use this anywhere except a teenager’s or child’s bathroom, but I’d delight in doing so!

Screen shot 2013-07-24 at 12.02.43 AM

Want more inspiration?  More animal fun in this Scalamandre post.

Inspiration is at the heart of my luxury design services. What’s inspiring you?   
Make your home or business interior the best it can be and contact me for online or in person advice.
(916) 834-9751

